Skip to main navigation.

Local student earns electric cooperative scholarship

As an Illinois electric cooperative, EnerStar Electric Cooperative participates along with 23 other Illinois electric cooperatives in the Thomas H. Moore IEC Memorial Scholarship Fund to assist deserving students in the “electric cooperative family.” Besides benefiting cooperative students, this scholarship fund provides a means for honoring deceased cooperative family through memorial gifts.

EnerStar is pleased to announce that Chrisman High School senior, Kyle Webster, has been one of nine winners in the Illinois Electric Cooperative’s Memorial Scholarships. This one-time award for high school students attending a 2-year community college has a value of $2,000. He is the son of EnerStar member-owners Tom and Karen Webster of Chrisman.

Kyle competed for this scholarship along with 275 other students from across the state. Candidates were judged on grade-point average, college entrance exam scores, work and volunteer experience, school and civic activities, and an essay demonstrating their knowledge of electric cooperatives. It was a rigorous and thorough vetting process, and the winners are well-deserving.

Kyle and his family can be very proud of his efforts, as is EnerStar, in winning this scholarship. Congratulations!

Pictured above: EnerStar board member Kevin Julian of Metcalf presents Kyle Webster with a $2,000 IEC scholarship. Webster is a senior at Chrisman High School.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo