EnerStar Electric Cooperative is a not-for-profit electric distribution cooperative that is locally owned and controlled by its members. The cooperative powers the lives of more than 5,300 homes and businesses in east-central Illinois. It operates over 1,500 miles of lines in Clark, Coles, Douglas, Edgar, and Vermilion counties. The headquarters are located in Paris, IL.

Co-op History
The co-op's sole purpose is to serve our members. We exist because no other electric utility was willing to provide electric service to the "last-mile" areas of the rural areas we currently serve. In the late 1930s, as part of FDR's New Deal, the Rural Electrification Act (REA) provided much-needed support to residents of rural America so they could form their own electric companies. And that's precisely what a group of local folks did under the guidance of the Edgar County Farm Bureau. Our goal today has stayed the same. We're proud to serve our local communities. It always has been. It always will be.

The cooperative membership elects nine directors to govern the cooperative, each a co-op member from one of the nine districts within the service territory. The board is responsible for setting the cooperative's strategic and financial goals.

Doing Business with Like-Minded Businesses
EnerStar receives wholesale power from Wabash Valley Power Alliance, a generation and transmission cooperative based in Indianapolis. EnerStar is a member of the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives (AIEC) and the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA). 

EnerStar Backgrounder

Mission Statement

EnerStar Electric Cooperative exists to reliably distribute affordable electricity to its member-owners while upholding our values of integrity, accountability, and commitment to the community.