EnerStar Electric is a not-for-profit electric distribution cooperative owned by the members we serve. If you get electricity from us, that's you!  Each year, the members come together for our annual meeting. We hold a business meeting after a hearty breakfast catered by Roosters & Rumps (Marshall, IL). It lasts about an hour and we have some GREAT door prizes at the end of the meeting. We announce director election results, celebrate achievements, and hear highlights on the state of your cooperative. So mark your calendars!


2024 Annual Meeting of Members
Saturday, June 1, 2024

Paris High School Complex (Directions here)
Breakfast           7:30 am to 9:00 am
Meeting              9:30 am

About the Official Notice
The official notice of the meeting will be mailed to all active members in late April. The envelope contains meeting information, director candidate bios, voting ballots for your district, and a postage-paid return ballot envelope. Also enclosed is information on a proposed bylaw change that members will consider at the meeting.

About the Proposed Bylaw Change
Members will consider two bylaw changes at the meeting. Click here to read.

About the Board of Directors Election (see below candidate bios)

Annual Meeting June 1 2024

Candidates for EnerStar Board of Directors

Kevin Julian Board Candidate for Voting District A-2

Kevin Julian - Candidate Bio

Voting District A - Representative District 2

Kevin is a 1976 graduate of Shiloh High School and has lived in his voting district for 55 + years. He grew up on a farm and worked in farming in his early career. He has recently retired as a senior electrician for Peabody Energy and Pittman Mine Services. After retiring, he continued his education to maintain federal and state electrical licenses. Kevin is currently the highway commissioner for Shiloh Township, where he was previously a trustee for over 30 years. He is also the representative for EnerStar on the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives board in Springfield. Kevin and his wife, Pam, a librarian at Shiloh School, have three daughters and four grandchildren. In his free time, Kevin likes going camping and spending time with family and friends. He also enjoys running a small trenching and backhoe service. After serving three terms as the District Two representative, Kevin believes EnerStar currently has a very diverse board for making many difficult decisions in order to keep the coop headed in the right direction.


Candidates for EnerStar Board of Directors

Darin Griffin - Board Candidate for Voting District B-4

Darin Griffin - Candidate Bio

Voting District B - Representative District 4

Darin Griffin has lived in Edgar County his whole life. He has worked at VADAS Auto Parts for 34 years and recently became the owner. In his spare time, Darin also farms a little over 350 acres and has been involved with the Grandview Volunteer Fire Department for over twenty years. His hobbies include doing anything outdoors and gardening. Darin joined the EnerStar board in 2021 and thanks the membership for the opportunity to serve on the EnerStar Board.

Candidates for EnerStar Board of Directors

Julie Higginbotham - Board Candidate for Voting District C-7

Julie Higginbotham - Candidate Bio

Voting District C - Representative District 7

Julie has lived in the Martinsville area for the past 40 years and taught in the Martinsville School District for 33 years before retiring two years ago. Retired life has kept her busy, but she enjoys working in her garden, reading, and putting together puzzles in her free time. Even though she may be busy, she always finds time to spend with my four grandchildren. Julie, and her husband, Tony, have been members of the Martinsville Bible Church for over 36 years; Tony serves as a church deacon, while Julie has served as church treasurer for over twenty years. Julie was appointed to the EnerStar board of directors in October 2023 to fill a vacancy created when the then-director moved out of the service area. Julie states she has thoroughly enjoyed the past few months as a director and continues to learn more about the electric cooperative and how it functions. She will continue that mission as a duly elected director and do her best to serve the member-owners of the cooperative